1426 N Quincy St
Arlington, VA 22207
Saturday, April 29, 2017

About the School Board

APS Honored Citizens
2016 Honored Citizens
 2016 Honored Citizens 
 Every year, community members spend countless hours volunteering in Arlington Schools, supporting both our students and our staff. The Arlington School Board recognizes this commitment and appreciates the efforts of all of our volunteers. In 1975, the Board established the Honored Citizen Award to recognize special volunteers who have made extraordinary contributions to Arlington Public Schools. These dedicated individuals participate in a wide variety of school activities, demonstrating a sustained commitment to APS of at least five years.

For 2016, the School Board has named 17 outstanding volunteers as Honored Citizens:

• Anh Bolles – Key School
• Nancy Brown – Wakefield High School
• Dana Daugherty – Oakridge Elementary School
• Rose Faltz – Drew Model Elementary School
• Danna Fischer – Yorktown High School
• Moira Forbes – Budget Advisory Council
• Marianne Freeman – REEP (Arlington Education and Employment Program)
• Emily Gleichenhaus – Ashlawn, Carlin Springs and Tuckahoe Elementary Schools
• Alicia Guajardo – Drew Model Elementary School and APS Advisory Groups
• Lynda Horvath - Yorktown, HB Woodlawn, Wakefield High Schools
• Melissa McCracken – Tuckahoe, Swanson, Washington-Lee and HB Woodlawn
• Bette Mohr – REEP (Arlington Education and Employment Program)
• Kathy Morland – REEP (Arlington Education and Employment Program)
• Steve Oxenrider – Arlington Career Center
• Jennifer Sauter-Price – Barrett Elementary School
• Howard Smith – Kenmore Middle School
• Leah Wallace – Yorktown, HB Woodlawn, Wakefield High Schools
To view a list of previously recognized Honored Citizens, click here:  Honored Citizens - 1975 to 2015
Last Modified on April 25, 2016